HomeTechnical Support » Printing

Printing

Printing in RDP environment Messages in this topic - RSS

Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681


3/19/2018
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681
You could test by adjusting the Printer Settle Time. This is the amount of time PrintBoss waits to look at the Windows Printer List before processing. In theory, this could slow processing, but it is in milliseconds.


edited by Nancy on 3/19/2018
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/19/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Thanks for the update.

Q: is there any chance that the problem with resolving the printer name would cause the slowness?
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/19/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Thanks for the update.

Q: is there any chance that the problem with resolving the printer name would cause the slowness?
0 link
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681


3/19/2018
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681
As noted below, there have been no changes in PrintBoss that would effect how printers are read by PrintBoss. We don't have any tools within PrintBoss, other than the Enterprise function, to disregard the redirected/sessions statements.


As for the slowness, you could set the PrintBoss form to Batch print in the Form\Editor. Then step the printing process though each individual step.
Print the accounting document to preview and note how long it takes to create the print job. Next print the document to PrintBoss 50. Note how long it takes to capture the batch in PrintBoss. Then print the documents from the PrintBoss\Work File. And time that. A standard sized batch would be best for testing. By doing this you can see where the slowness occurs.
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/19/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Customer is asking if we have any update on this. Please advise.
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/14/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Thanks.

BTW, we are also seeing SIGNIFICANT delays in the start of printing batches of checks. Anywhere from 30 seconds to nearly 1 1/2 minutes, and it seems to be related to the number of checks.

I don't know if this is somehow related to the issue we're dealing with. Just more food for thought.
0 link
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681


3/14/2018
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681
Thank you Mary. I have taken this up with the development team. There have been no changes in PrintBoss that would effect how printers are read by PrintBoss. I don't have any tools within PrintBoss, other than the Enterprise function, to disregard the redirected/sessions statements.
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/13/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Attached Word doc with screen shots from old and new environments, confirming that printers were redirected in the old environment.

0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/13/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
I am going to say yes, but to make certain, we will check.

I no longer have access to that environment but I will get someone to send us a screen shot.
0 link
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681


3/13/2018
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 681
Do we know for sure that the printers were redirected in the old environment?
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/8/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Hi Paula,

I understand about the need to exactly match printer names but the customer is pushing back on two aspects of this.


First, the user always selects the printer in PB during check printing, so the "name" should match,


Secondly, they have always run PB standard in this type of environment (since 2001) and did not have a problem.

But now we have LOTS of variables from the old environment. The variables are that we are in a new environment - new server, newer o/s, newer version of PB, newer version of Sage 300.

The new server is a clone of the old one, that was upgraded by the in-house IT folks.

The customer's position is it worked in an RDP environment before with the standard version, why not now.

If you have an answer I can give them, I would be grateful for same.

IF upgrading to Enterprise is the only resolution, I need to know that as well.

Thanks. And sorry for delay in getting back to you on this.
0 link
paula
Administrator
Posts: 207


3/2/2018
paula
Administrator
Posts: 207
Thank you, Mary! PrintBoss is literal with printers names. When someone is printing in an environment that uses session or redirected printers, the printer name typically changes with each login as the session number changes. This is why PrintBoss is generating a printer error. We have a Session Stripping solution in the Enterprise edition of PrintBoss, but not in Standard. As a result, the client will need to open PrintBoss and select the correct printer for the session before they print to PrintBoss. The alternative is upgrading to Enterprise so they can use the Session Stripping option.
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/2/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Oh, Standard
0 link
paula
Administrator
Posts: 207


3/1/2018
paula
Administrator
Posts: 207
Mary - What version of PrintBoss is the client using?
0 link
Mary Clark
Posts: 11


3/1/2018
Mary Clark
Posts: 11
Customer has used PB for many years. We cloned the environment on a new server, upgraded the o/s & SQL, upgraded to Sage 300v2017, upgraded PB (it is up to date as of version last month).

Users access server via RDP. The printer is a USB printer attached to the A/P clerk's workstation/laptop. Whenever they print checks, they get a message/error:

" Warning: The printer "HP Laserjet 4250 PCL6 (redirected 42)" is not in the printer list. Windows default printer used.


From the PrintBoss Master menu select the "File/Printer setup" to choose a proper printer."




We have done the "choose proper printer" step multiple times, with the same result each time. The windows default printer is the printer it is trying to access. The checks do print at that time.

The user has chosen to have all local resources available in the RDP session.

We have verified the configuration on the new server matches the old server, as far as we can tell. They did not get this error on the old system.

We don't know what to look for to make this disappear.

Please advise what next step needs to be.

Thank you.

Attachments:
PB error.PNG
0 link






Powered by Jitbit Forum 8.3.8.0 © 2006-2013 Jitbit Software