HomeTechnical Support » Work & Archive Files

Work & Archive Files

Archiving Documents Messages in this topic - RSS

Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 732


6/5/2014
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 732
As PrintBoss processes documents it creates a Work file. We recommend that PrintBoss users have their own Work file. This allows each user to track their own documents and prevents other users from accidentally overwriting the work files.

The setting for Work Files is found on the Options\Configuration\Settings tab, under the topic of Private Folder Names. The most common work file setting is {WinUserName}. PrintBoss will create folders by Windows User Name in the Work folder of the PrntBoss Home directory.

There are several options for what can happen to the documents in the Work file once processing has been completed. One option is to archive the documents.

Please note: Archiving documents in PrintBoss is not available with PrintBoss Select. The following refers only to the Standard and Enterprise Edition of PrintBoss.

The process of archiving documents moves the files from the Work folder to an Archive folder. The {WinUserName} is also the recommended setting for tracking Archive documents, but there are times when a Common folder is more advantageous for creating audit reports.

Once it has been determined where to place the processed documents, there are several options for when to archive the files. ‘Auto-Archiving Completed Records’ in the Form Editor on the Settings tab has a drop down menu for choosing an Archive method.

The following are the choices:

None (Manual) – Work file documents are not archived or deleted automatically. Any changes to the Work files need to be made manually. This is not recommended except for troubleshooting. If Work files are not cleared periodically, they may begin to slow – and eventually stop - the processing of new documents.

Archive Completed Records – Work file documents are automatically transferred to Archives after successfully printing or processing ALL copies of the document. This means all printed copies, all e-mail copies, etc. Documents that were not completely processed will remain in the Work file. In this situation, the Work file should be monitored by the user to determine why a copy was not completely processed.

Archive Records w/Prompt – User is prompted to archive documents after they finish printing or processing (i.e. e-mailing, positive pay creation, PDF creation).

Delete Completed Records – Work file documents are automatically deleted after successfully printing or processing of all copies. They are not moved to Archives.

Delete Completed Records w/Prompt – User is prompted to delete documents after they finish printing. Documents are not archived.

Overwrite Work File at Start of Batch This is the default setting for standard forms.
Documents remain in the Work File until the next print batch is started. Then the existing documents are deleted and the new documents temporarily stored in the Work File. Documents are not archived.

Archive Records after _ days – PrintBoss displays a ‘Days till Archiving’ field when this option is selected to allow the user to input when the completed records will be automatically transferred to Archives. The largest available value is 299999.

Archive Records after _ days w/ Prompt – PrintBoss displays a ‘Days till Archiving’ field when this option is selected to allow the user to input when they will be prompted to archive completed records. The largest available value is 299999.

Delete Records after _ days – PrintBoss displays a ‘Days till Archiving’ field when this option is selected to allow the user to input when the completed records will be automatically deleted.

Delete Records after _ days w/Prompt – PrintBoss displays a ‘Days till Archiving’ field when this option is selected to allow the user to input when they will be prompted to delete completed work file documents.

Archive Work File at Start of Batch – Completed Work file documents are automatically transferred to Archives at the start of the next batch printed to the same PrintBoss work file.

Archived documents can be grouped together in the Archive file for easy retrieval. Documents are by default grouped by the Form name. An ‘Archive File Name Suffix’ can be added to the Form name which will segregate the documents into smaller groups. For example, if a large number of documents are processed each month, a suffix can be added so that all documents are grouped by the year and the month in which they were processed.

Assigning ‘Archive File Name Suffix’ is found on the Form Editor\Special Controls tab. This tab gives note to special requirements for the form. Select or enter a suffix to attach to each work file name. This function works in both the Standard and Enterprise editions of PrintBoss.

Dynamic components can be used. For example, enter {YYYY_MM} in this field for the Ca_ap1 form to date stamp the Archive file. A new Archive file will be created each month stamped with the year and month: Ca_ap12014_06.
0 link






Powered by Jitbit Forum 8.3.8.0 © 2006-2013 Jitbit Software