HomeTechnical Support » Configuration & Setup

Configuration & Setup

Text Input File Specs Messages in this topic - RSS

Steven
Posts: 13


7/11/2017
Steven
Posts: 13
Company name is Group Medical Services. Here is the New-Page Macro that previously worked and now does not:

(At("~", "{LineVal}")>0) .or. ( "{DocNo}."<>"{LastPageDocNo}." .and. {LineCount}= Iif(.t.,52,32) )

The "{DocNo}" <> "{LastPageDocNo}" condition is now always being evaluated as true because the {LastPageDocNo} variable is always taking on the same value as {DocNo}. I even added both of these variables to the form file as text in order to actually see what was happening. Before we upgraded, {LastPageDocNo} would behave as expected. Let me know if you need me to provide any additional details or files.
0 link
paula
Administrator
Posts: 208


7/11/2017
paula
Administrator
Posts: 208
I can shed some more light on this as I realized I had an issue with this recently.
PrintBoss can compare the first column or the first few characters of a string to the variable {LastPageDocNo}. When the first value is not equal to {LastPageDocNo} and the condition is added to the ‘New-Page Macro’ in the Settings tab of the Text Input File, PrintBoss will generate a new page. I know this works as I set it up 2 months ago for a demo. The following is the macro I entered:

"{LineVal:1,5}"<>"{LastPageDocNo}"

{LastPageDocNo} only works on the beginning text for the row.

Paula
0 link
paula
Administrator
Posts: 208


7/11/2017
paula
Administrator
Posts: 208
Steve could you message your company name and contact info, or call tech support? We'd like to assist, but not sure how you are using {LastPageDocNo}. We need more information.
0 link
Steven
Posts: 13


7/6/2017
Steven
Posts: 13
Update on this issue: We've finally upgraded to the latest version (6.02.1 currently) and are still experiencing issues with cheques produced from text input files. The original bug reported has been corrected, but there is a new bug present which is affecting the {LastPageDocNo} variable. Specifically, it is always getting assigned the same value as {DocNo}, so our "New-Page Macro" is not being evaluated correctly. This is resulting in multi-page cheque vouchers printing incorrectly. Please investigate and let me know what additional information you require.
Thanks
0 link
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 743


3/21/2016
Nancy
Administrator
Posts: 743
There was a change to PrintBoss in 6.0.1.0 to TextCapture functions which may be effecting your processing. Could you please provide Technical Support with a sample file, Text Input File, and Form? Please forward a copy of these files to support@wellspringsoftware.com and we will pass them along to development for review & fix. Thank you!
0 link
Steven
Posts: 13


3/18/2016
Steven
Posts: 13
We just upgraded from version 5.73.2 to version 6.01.2 and we're experiencing a change in the way our Text Input Files are processed. Specifically, the {TextCaptDocPageNo} variable is not getting reset to 1 for each new document in the batch, so only the first document is getting a check printed for it, while the remainder of the documents are not. Any idea what could have changed in the software to cause this behavior? I understand there may not be enough information in my post to investigate the issue, so let me know what additional info may be required. We've been using the same Text Input File Specs for 10+ years without issue so it looks as though a change in the software has caused this issue.

Thanks in advance for any assistance.
0 link






Powered by Jitbit Forum 8.3.8.0 © 2006-2013 Jitbit Software